I Finally Taste Camel Chocolate

An awesome friend brought me a bar of al-Nassma camel chocolate from the UAE. It’s been two years or so since I first heard about camel chocolate and I’ve been dying to try it. Camel milk is supposedly superior to cow milk in all kinds of ways, plus, camels!

The bar is a 70% chocolate bar, which is way “darker” than I ordinarily like (Hershey’s Special Dark is 45%), but this bar is so creamy I would have guessed it was a milk chocolate bar. Very tasty and feels great going down.

Here are a couple reviews I found, with more detail: at Candy Blog
and Chocolate Ratings.

And here’s the official site: http://www.al-nasma.com/

UPDATE: I finally had the sense to read the wrapper. The ingredients are as follows: cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter, whole camel milk powder (2%), honey, bourbon vanilla. Cocoa: 70% minimum. May contain traces of nuts and soy lecithin.

2 Comments

Filed under arabian, arabist, miscellaneous

2 responses to “I Finally Taste Camel Chocolate

  1. Sarah Standish

    Wow, intriguing. I want some.

    How curious, too, that there is much camel milk in a 70% dark chocolate bar. Bars with 70% cocoa content made in the US typically have no milk in them at all.

Leave a Reply

