Is It My Imagination…

…or isn’t this woman a dead ringer for Emilio Estevez?

wanted to put an Emilio Estevez quote here, but couldn't find any

Emily Ruete (1844-1924) was born in Zanzibar as Sayyida Salme, Princess of Zanzibar and Oman.

Almost. Sayyida is not her name, it’s an indication that she’s supposedly a descendant of the prophet Muhammad, and I don’t know that “princess” is the most appropriate designation, but she wrote her own history for a western, Christian audience, so “princess” is what they would have understood.

Wikipedia has more.

But seriously, she looks like Emilio Estevez, right?

5 Comments

Filed under arab, arabian, arabist, names, pedantry

5 responses to “Is It My Imagination…

  1. Pepper Goblin

    Spittin’ image! Thanks for the chuckle along with the info.

  2. This made me laugh. Love the “original” princesses.

  3. I don’t know about other little girls, but once I found out what real princesses were like, I stopped wanting to be one.

  4. Well, I’m working now on 2 posts about the Arab-American Princess. They should be up by the weekend.

Leave a Reply

