Heartening News

Mike Huckabee’s trip to Israel has led to some thoughtful blog posts at various blogs I read. Polls are showing Huckabee, Palin, and Romney as all leading contenders for the next Republican primary. I found this here:

Mike Huckabee just told CBN: “One of the things I find most interesting is that generally Evangelicals are so much more supportive of Israel than the American Jewish community.”

In case you were wondering, CBN is the Christian Broadcasting Network.

This is what I find heartening:

I don’t know that Huckabee’s assertion is true, and I think it would depend on how one defines being “supportive,” but I don’t think he’s necessarily wrong either. It’s clear from my own personal experience that during the last 25 or so years, the number of American Jews in my circle who think that Israel holds the moral high ground and is a vulnerable but righteous democratic state surrounded by a sea of bloodthirsty Arab barbarians has declined dramatically, even as the pro-Israeli right has actively courted the conservative Christian community with those very same claims.

Well thank goodness. I think it’s true, too. And I sure hope it is. To paraphrase a comment I saw on a blog somewhere a while ago,

They say Israel is America’s only friend in the middle east. Before the creation of Israel, America didn’t have an enemy in the middle east.

Uh-oh, just found this, and it’s not good:

HUCKABEE: Basically, there really is no such thing as — I have to be careful in saying this, because people will really — but there’s no such thing as a Palestinian.

As a former governor of Arkansas, does Mr Huckabee also think there is no such thing as a Cherokee, a Chickasaw, a Chocktaw, or an Osage, and if so, does he say it out loud?


Since formatting may prevent you from reading the whole thing, here’s the link to the comic.

1 Comment

Filed under arab, church and state

One response to “Heartening News

  1. morris

    Perhaps you might post this?

    Message to the Jews – Gilad Atzmon – angst creates enemies

Leave a Reply

