A Few Random Things

I’m still reading Suleiman the Magnificent, and what with work and preparing for the holidays and all that, I haven’t come up with a lot of good ideas to blog about.

So a few random facts about myself, Snarla.
I am told that when I was a very young lass, when angered I would hold my breath until I passed out. I have no memory of this, and I’m taking my dad’s word for it. He says he “cured” me of this by startling me with a very loud noise one day when he saw me preparing to do it.
I still tend to hold my breath when I start any sudden physical activity, like taking off running. Yes, I’m that person who causes physical education teachers to say, “Remember to breathe.”
Holding your breath while sprinting is not a good strategy. I think I’ve pretty much taught myself how to stop doing that.

My favorite color is green. I’ve always had a strong affinity for it. If you visit my Amazon store, you will see that it has a lovely green color scheme. You can get to it by clicking on the “Stuff to Buy” tab up top, right under the name of the blog and above the beautiful painting. Heck, here’s a link to it: http://astore.amazon.com/anonyarabi-20

I thought for the sake of convenience I’d put all the books and movies and music I’ve talked about on this blog in one place.

Speaking of the blog, it has a search function. It makes me sad that so few people have read some of the things I’ve written in the past. Did you know I did a post about Muslims in Space? Why wonder how Muslims deal with facing Mecca while in orbit, when you could use the search function and find out right away?

I think “tomboy” is a completely obsolete word. I wish people would stop using it. Same with “co-ed,” unless you’re using it as an adjective, or if you’re equally likely to use it to describe a male student as a female one.

When I was in high school we didn’t have “goths” yet, but I’m pretty sure I would have been one if we’d had them.

Leave a comment

Filed under arabist, off-topic

Leave a Reply

