Burning Love by Nan Ryan

After visiting the Sheikhs and Desert Love website a few times I caved in to my curiosity and borrowed Burning Love by Nan Ryan.
This is not a review, because how seriously can you take a romance novel?
The author played it pretty safe by setting it at the turn of the century (19th-20th), since the reader isn’t very likely to know much about Arabia at that time. She’s also very vague about where in Arabia it takes place. At one point she mentions the Mediterranean is to the north, but a few days later they’re looking at the Rub’ al-Khali in the eastern Arabian peninsula. Baghdad is mentioned as a destination.
Mostly I was impressed at the general believability of the novel, as destination romance novels go.
But then she threw in the word naksedil. It’s supposed to be the endearment, “My love.” But it isn’t Arabic. Unless someone can tell me what word it’s supposed to be, because it sure doesn’t look like anything I’ve ever seen.

...she fell into his arms...

...she fell into his arms...

Update: While looking for the above picture, I became aware of a book titled Her Sheikh Boss, which I just needed to know more about. When I looked it up on Amazon, I also found these titles:
King of the Desert, Captive Bride
The Sheik and the Pregnant Bride
The Desert Lord’s Bride
The Sheikh’s Chosen Queen
The Sheikh’s Blackmailed Mistress
Daring the Dynamic Sheikh: the Royal Wager
The Fierce and Tender Sheikh

And many more. So somewhere out there are legions of romance novel appreciators who find Arab men to be mysterious and sexy. That seems like it must be a good thing.

2 Comments

Filed under books

2 responses to “Burning Love by Nan Ryan

  1. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any suggestions for newbie blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.
    Ugg http://www.villavargas.it/uggitalia/

Leave a Reply

