Al-Qaeda Prohibits Gender Mixing of Vegetables

Maters and cukesYes, that is a weird headline. But it means what it says.

I never would have found this on my own, which is part of why I’ve always found Chuck Shepherd’s News of the Weird to be so entertaining and enlightening.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/18234571

American commanders cite al-Qaida’s severe brand of Islam, which is so extreme that in Baqouba, al-Qaida has warned street vendors not to place tomatoes beside cucumbers because the vegetables are different genders, Col. David Sutherland said.

This reminds me of another story I found on News of the Weird a few years back, where a band of villagers in Bosnia or Kosovo, I can’t remember which, insisted that the American soldiers stationed nearby kill a dog that they (the soldiers) had adopted, because “it was a Serbian dog.” I wish I could find that in the News of the Weird archives.

Leave a comment

Filed under arab, arabist, Islamic relations

Leave a Reply

